Home > Conference

2020 Conference 
"Advances in the Analysis of Competition Policy and Regulation"
Friday, June 26 - Sunday, June 28, 2020

Plato and Aristotle

(Raffaello Sanzio, "The School of Athens")

CRESSE Conferences deal with Competition and/or Sectoral Regulation issues with emphasis on the policy relevance of recent research. The objective is to give the opportunity for high quality research papers to be presented and discussed in detail. A second objective is to provide a forum for academic economists, legal experts, policy makers and practitioners to meet and exchange ideas in panels that discuss important topical policy issues.

An important aspect of the Conference is the organisation of Round Tables with participants from academia but also from policy practice, regulated enterprises, the EU Commission etc.

CRESSE 2020 Conference Keynote Speakers: 

 Competition Policy Keynote Lecture by Prof. Jean Tirole (Toulouse School of Economics) 

 J-J Laffont Lecture by Prof. Volker Nocke (University of Mannheim)

 Keynote Lawyers’ Lecture by Prof. Einer Elhauge (Harvard Law School)

The 15th CRESSE Conference will take place from June 26 to June 28, 2020, in Out of the Blue CAPSIS ELITE RESORTHeraklion, Crete, Greece.

2019 Conference Material

CRESSE Scientific Committee

The CRESSE Scientific Committee consists of Prof. Joe HarringtonBusiness Economics and Public Policy Department, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania (2010 - ), Prof. Leslie Marx, Duke University, The Fuqua School of Business (2019 - ), Dr. Pierre RegibeauChief Economist, DGCOMP (2006 - )Prof. Patrick ReyUniversity of Toulouse (2006 - ), Prof. Thomas Ross Sauder School of Business, University of British Columbia (2014 - )Prof. David UlphUniversity of St. Andrews (2006 - ) and Prof. Yannis KatsoulacosAUEB (2006 - ), who also acts as Chairman and Coordinator. Prof. Massimo Motta (Barcelona Graduate School of Economics) was a member of the Scientific Committee from 2006 – 2010.

CRESSE Advisory Board
The Board consists of individuals of outstanding reputation in competition law and policy. 

The Members of the Board are:

Dr. Cristina Caffarra (Charles River Associates)

Prof. Frederic Jenny
(ESSEC Business School; Chairman of the OECD Competition Committee)

Prof. William Kovacic (The George Washington University Law School, former Federal Trade Commission Chairman) 

Prof. Fiona Scott Morton (Yale School of Management)

Prof. Aviv Nevo
(The Wharton School and Dept. of Economics, University of Pennsylvania, former Chief Economist at Antitrust Division of Dept. of Justice)

Prof. Howard Shelanski
(Georgetown University, formerly Director of the Bureau of Economics at the U.S. FTC and Administrator of the White House Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs)

CRESSE Associates
International network of prominent scholars, policy makers and practitioners in Competition Policy and Regulation that are involved in the Summer School, the Lawyers’ Course, the Executive Programme (CALEP) and / or the Conference as regular participants and provide a channel between CRESSE and the academic, policy and consultancy community.

CRESSE Associates (Academics – Economists) 
Prof. John AskerProf. Heski Bar-IsaacProf. Gregory CrawfordProf. Claude CrampesProf. Vincenzo DenicoloProf. Federico EtroProf. Amelia FletcherProf. Chiara FumagalliProf. Neil GandalProf. Christos GenakosProf. Elisabetta IossaProf. Katernia KyriazidouProf. Kai-Uwe KuhnProf. Simon Loertscher, Prof. Peter MøllgaardProf. Juan-Pablo MonteroProf. Volker NockeProf. Martin PeitzProf. Michele PoloProf. Eduardo Pontual RibeiroProf. Maarten Pieter SchinkelProf. Giancarlo SpagnoloProf. Yossi SpiegelProf. Rune StenbackaProf. Guofu Tan,Prof. Tommaso VallettiProf. Frank VerbovenProf. Thibaud VergeProf. Nikolaos VettasProf. Glen WeylProf. Julian WrightProf. Guangliang Ye.

CRESSE Associates (Law, Policy and Practice)
Mr. Tembinkosi BonakeleDr. Jet DengMr. John DaviesProf. Damien GeradinDr. Eliana GarcesProf. Ioannis KokkorisDr. Assimakis KomninosProf. Ioannis LianosDr. Frank P. Maier-RigaudProf. Philip Marsden, Dr. Liberty Mncube, Dr. Dan O' BrienDr. Jorge PadillaDr. Ana Sofia RodriguesProf. Daniel SokolProf. Dimitris TzouganatosDr. Keith Waehrer.

For registering to the CRESSE Conference click here.

To see the CRESSE 2020 Call for papers click


Summer School News

  • Module on Collusive Practices by J. Harrington
    more details
  • Module on Quantitative Analysis for CP by F. Verboven
    more details
  • Advanced Short Courses
    more details
  • Summer School – Advanced Short Courses and Conference Synopsis
    more details

Conference News

Lawyers' Course News
Previous Slide
Next Slide
Sponsors Contact Us
Welcome   Summer School    Testimonies
Who we are   Lawyers Course   Photos
Faculty    Conference    Event Synopses
Scientific Committee   Call for Papers    Application Forms
Associates   Training Activities   Links
Contact Information:

CRESSE Secretariat
Athens University of Economics and Business
76 Patission str., 104 34 Athens GREECE

Tel.: +30 210 8203348
Fax: +30 210 8223259
email: info@cresse.info
Copyright © CRESSE Designed and Developed by eBOS Technologies
powered by